Driving with Suspended Driver's License
If you do not have a forcible felony and your license is suspended or revoked due to the following:
- Failure to maintain auto insurance;
- Failure to pay traffic ticket;
- Failure to pay child support;
- Failure to appear in court for a traffic ticket;
- Failure to complete driving school;
- Failure to pay financial obligations;
- Failure of a minor to attend school;
- Failure to render aid at an accident;
- Reckless driving (3 times within 12 months);
- Use of vehicle in prostitution;
- Possession of Controlled Substance;
- Theft and shoplifting;
- Theft of gasoline;
- Habitual Traffic Offender;
then you may face the following charges:
- Driving with a License Suspended or Revoked First Offense- second degree misdemeanor;
- Driving with a License Suspended or Revoked Second Offense- first degree misdemeanor;
- Driving with a License Suspended or Revoked Third or Subsequent Offense- third degree felony.
If you are a first offender and had no knowledge that your driver’s license was suspended, then the driving with a suspended license is an infraction. However, if the element of knowledge can by proved by showing that an offender was previously cited, an offender received a notice, or an offender admitted to knowing about the suspension, then the charge becomes criminal in nature.
An offender holding a commercial driver’s license (CDL), driving with a suspended license for the first offense is a first degree misdemeanor and the second offense is a third degree felony.
After the period of suspension or revocation has expired, you can apply for a reinstatement by paying any necessary fees to Florida DHSMV. In the mean time, you may eligible for a hardship license to allow you to drive for work purposes and any necessities. After a DUI, you have 10 days to request such a license by waiving the formal review by the Bureau of Reviews in Pensacola, Florida. If you pass the deadline, then you can apply for a formal review by contacting Bureau of Reviews directly. You may also qualify for a hardship license if the judge approves it as a condition at your sentencing.