Driving with No Valid Driver's License and Suspensions due to Financial Obligations

Florida States Statute 322.03(1) states that driving without a valid license from a proper government agency on a public highway or a street is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines. This charge does not require proving that you had knowledge of a suspension of your driver’s license. Although not as serious, this will still create a criminal record. Some of the defenses of this charge are an illegal traffic stop or detention, a valid driver’s license, or operating a vehicle on private roadway.

In addition to having no valid driver’s license, your license can be suspended due to financial obligations, such as not paying child support, not paying traffic citation fines or court costs in some instances, or other liens. Many times, drivers are not aware that they have a financial obligation suspension. For this reason, it is important to check your driver’s license record from time to time if you know you have financial obligations. This can result in a driving with a suspended license charge.

If you have encountered any of the above problems, you need to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible to review the discovery in your case and your driving record in order to determine if any of the suspensions or points can be lifted. Contact Stewart Law Firm today at 850-689-4529.

Florida Trend's Legal Elite 2012 Avvo Rating 8.8 Excellent - Feature Attorney, DUI & DWI